doin’ what comes naturally…

2014_STABTheater_AGYG1-0347

It really hit home yesterday that I’ll never have a kid acting on our school’s stage again. Gulp. A year ago, I was photographing Evan as the King of Siam, and while I take pictures of professional productions as well as our school’s shows, somehow this milestone clobbered me a bit. We’ve missed a lot of school lately (snow, exams, snow again) so the cast was working very, very hard yesterday (from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. on a Sunday) just to prepare for the upcoming opening of “Annie Get Your Gun”–this was their first dress rehearsal.

2014_STABTheater_AGYG1-9725

The leads truly lit up the stage, and I’m confident they’ll be ready for opening night; more pictures to come, but I wanted to put up a couple now for luck.  I always love seeing a show for the first time through a lens instead of stuck in my seat. Seeing a kid’s eyes glow, watching them relax into a role and allow the character to emerge, is heightened when you’re photographing the show. Break a leg, guys!

2014_STABTheater_AGYG1-9960

Leave a Reply

